The Blot on the Devon Landscape

The wilfull + unecessary defacing of beautiful countryside

06 December – Steam emmision from laundry

Posted by Micro Update Ltd on December 7, 2009

07 Dec 09:

Below is a resume of communications between the General Manager of the Laundry and residents over the last 2 days:

07Dec09:
 
Paul,
 
Thank you for your latest email, which is self explanatory, and has been immediately emailed to those residents on my mailing list.
 
This latest incident could not have happened at a worse timing or weather conditons; weekend/early Sunday morning when all, including yourself, were hoping to enjoy some ‘down time’ after a weeks labour.
 
Your offer of an out of hours/emergency number is appreciated and I would like to take you up on that, on the basis that all communciations go via our agreed route, i.e. via yourself and me – thereby avoiding a duplication of calls.
 
During the week the laundry had its ?annual? safety valve lifting test/survey. It seems that each time this is performed then problems ensue a few days/hours afterwards. Can you explain this?
 
Best regards,
 
Les Edgecumbe.


 
—– Original Message —–

Sent: Monday, December 07, 2009 9:18 AM
Subject: RE: Boiler
Les
 
I have advised all staff that I must be contacted in the event of an issue at the factory and that I in turn will advise residents through yourself of any issues that may affect you.This is the case 24/7 and this system has not failed on this occasion.
 
The delay in advising you was purely as a result of my availability out of hours; as you say you understand that I was not on duty on Sunday. It is inevitable that there will be times where I cannot be contacted immediately – I have numerous personal commitments away from work – but I remain convinced that all communication between us should be channelled through me to you or vice versa. This has served us well in recent months and I would not want to see that fail at this point. Immediately I received the call from the factory I advised you; I can promise no more or no less than that.
 
I am genuinely sorry for any disturbance or inconvenience caused in this incident and can assure you that duty engineers did all they could to remedy the issue. It is unfortunate that our offices are not manned on a Saturday or Sunday – hence your fellow resident being unable to contact us direct. If you feel it would be beneficial I am prepared to provide you with my mobile number for emergency use but I could give no greater assurance than that set out above in terms of being immediately contactable.
 
Kind regards
 
Paul

 


From: Les Edgecumbe [mailto:les.edgecumbe@btinternet.com]
Sent: 06 December 2009 14:09
To: Cllr: D. Corney-Walker; Cllr. R Leeper; Cllr: G Hook; Alistaire Johns; Barrie Doddington; Bill Jarman; Chris+Bernice Hunt; David Miller; Elaine No. 33 A Pk; Eric + Ann Ward; Helen Ritson; Holger Beck; Jean Doddington; Jeff Pascoe/G4ELZ; John Hawkins; Jon Kenn; Jonathan Camp/Home; Ken Harper/G0EKH; Malcolm Coe; MIKE EVANS/M0BPA; Nick McVernon; Phil Harding; Phil Rock; Richard Cartwright/Globe; Roger Mewis; Roger Snowden; SARAH JOHNS; Simon Garner; Terry Cousins; Val Yates; Wilf Morton/Globe:; Annette Jones; Denise Harris; Hayden and Gillian Macey; Paul Pearson
Subject: Fw: Boiler
Importance: High
Paul,
The noise has gone on from early this morning until gone 11:45, and regrettably the wind has been SSW making the matter even worse.
Unfortunately we only received your notification on cessation of the noise. Several residents have made representations to me after giving it some time to show understanding and ‘goodwill’, and are still upset that an earlier explanation was not given. We understand that you were not on duty, but as the noise was of a “high level for some considerable hours” it would have been beneficial to know just what was happening, in your absence. One resident was unable to contact the laundry direct by telephone.
 
Regards,
 
Les Edgecumbe.


—– Original Message —–

Sent: Sunday, December 06, 2009 1:55 PM
Subject: Boiler
Les
 
Hope you are well.
 
I am not on duty today. However I have just been notified of some issues with the boiler that may have resulted in the safety valves actuating.
 
The problem has now been dealt with; I trust there has not been too great an inconvenience.
 
Regards
 
Paul
===== 

Hi Les
Having been woken up this morning at 0630 and deprived of my only lay in of the week by yet again a faulty valve at the laundry and not being able to get back to sleep I got up. But now I find that the valve is still going off at regular intervals what I want to know is were are the engineers to turn the thing off. We were assured last time that the problem was solved it appears it has not and neither does there appear to be weekend engineer cover and this is totally unacceptable. This situation has been going on far to long without proper redress from Sunlight if I have to endure the noise over night I will want compensation for loss of sleep from Sunlight. I have two long trips tomorrow to Penzance and then to Bournemouth around trip of over 400 miles which I do not want to undertake if I have not had any sleep for obvious reasons and if they are cancelled I will again suffer financial loss as I did on the last occasion and I will not accept it twice.
Please can you pass my complaint in the strongest terms to your contact at Sunlight  and that I will be seeking compensation from Sunlight for reasons as above.
Regards
Holger

 
Leave a Reply

 
